USFS Jobs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USFS Jobs

Im applying to the USFS currently is there anything i can do now, to make my self more prepared for this upcoming season? Im A newbie to firefighting just want make myself as prepared as possible

Where are you hoping to work (which state)? What training / experience do you currently have? What is your goal, summer employment, career, stepping stone to a city dept?

While waiting for more specific detail, I can offer this, try and get your basic 32 (S130 wildland firefighter, S190 intro to wildland fire behavior, I100 intro to ICS and L180 Human factors on the fireline), this class is typically taught over a week or a couple of weekends and is often available through school ROP or from wildland agencies.

Getting your first responder medical or EMT is always a plus.

Go and talk to the engineers, captains, batallion chiefs where you want to work, this can be the most important step.

Unless you only want to work for the USFS then you should also take a look at the National Park Service, Bureau of Land Management and US Fish and Wildlife, all of them hire seasonal firefighters and have basically the same working conditions.

I'd be happy to answer any other questions you have.

Comment

well i dont have any specific fire training, unless being blowin up numerous times counts!! i currently Hunt IED's in western Iraq and i dont see any life expectancy in that, ive been in the Marines going on 8 years now im a Combat engineer by trade (ex. I got out and find landmines and Build Stuff)