Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What images come to mind when you think of firefighting?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What images come to mind when you think of firefighting?

Hi everyone, I've got a question. . .

I'm not a firefighter; as my name suggests, I'm an artist. I was just curious about how you all viewed firefighting as it relates to firefighting art.

I'm asking because I did a series based on real images from a fire station. I liked how they turned out, BUT most of the firefighting art I see is more collage-like stuff, with wings and halos, or flags and eagles in the background.

What do you think about how you're portrayed? Do actual firefighter's have that kind of art up for themselves?

Thanks for your time guys, I really appreciate it.
    Last edited by Artist; 05-05-2008, 08:10 PM. Reason: typo

My son just graduated from UMass Dartmouth with a Bachelor's degree in Graphic Design. His senior show project was a hardcover book about my Fire Department. He also has taken the entrance exam for firefighter.

I don't find the flag/eagle, halo/angelic stuff offensive, but it isn't my form of art. I prefer the reality version of "da job".. actual pictures of firefighters doing what they do.. including things like housework, truck checks, training as well as fires.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Comment

Originally posted by CaptainGonzo
      I don't find the flag/eagle, halo/angelic stuff offensive, but it isn't my form of art. I prefer the reality version of "da job".. actual pictures of firefighters doing what they do.. including things like housework, truck checks, training as well as fires.
      Yeah, what Gonzo said!