What to bring to the Party

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to bring to the Party

A female responder from Kansas write asking for suggestions for a personal response kit. What suggestions do you have for her?

Her question:
    Dear Mr. Moore,

I am a volunteer firefighter and first responder (EMT level), only with the department since July 2005. There are many calls on which I am the only responder available during the day, when most of our volunteers are at their jobs. I perform both fire and accident/medical response services for my area, which is a minimum of 30 minutes from EMS arrival from town. Given this circumstance, do you have a recommendation for a tool or tools I can carry which would enable me to gain entrance, especially via windows of cars and buses? (I am a 5'3" woman, so I don't have the strength to use some of our fire station's tools on my own!)

My reply:
    Some things I can think of that would be valuable to you include;

a spring punch for tempered glass breaking

paramedic serrated edge scissors for seatbelt cutting ( more versatile than a seatbelt cutter)

a small pry tool, like a Stanley Wonder Bar, for peeling away things such as interior trim

a small pliers-type tool for cutting battery cables

a fire-resistive blanket for covering a patient ( I use the Pyro Shield here in McKinney)

something to write with (permanent ink Sharpie magic marker)

a forcible entry tool for prying (Halligan bar or something like the Pry-Axe tool)

ANSI-approved safety glasses and leather-palmed work gloves that you can wear latex gloves underneath

a California-style brush / wildland jacket for upper body protection

a flashlight (LED-type bulb)

a rock climbing-type helmet with chin strap that is low profile and has a small brim
    Ron Moore, Forum Moderator
    www.universityofextrication.com

an adjustable c-collar

Comment