Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Answer to Armored Car Rescue

A Posting From Forum Moderator Ron Moore

Received a request for assistance in studying armored cars from a Fire Chief in the Rochester, New York area.

If anyone has industry contacts, knows of sources of information or has put together a program on these specialty vehicles, speak up and share with the rest of us.

Here's my reply to the Chief-

"I have actually researched this to see what information I could find out. Other firefighters have asked the same question that you have. Sure enough, I found that a major manufacturer of armored cars is here in Texas. I'm awaiting confirmation that I can tour and inspect their assembly plant to do a story.

At this point, I have no experience and no information to offer for dealing with these vehicles. My plan is to spend time at the manufacturer and then publish the info in Firehouse magazine and on our website. Stay tuned!"

Oh my god Ron, I NEVER even thought about THAT speciality Rescue Techinique. I am currently in the process of putting an informational book together for my volunteer fire department, due to the fact that we had NO idea until a week ago about all the new things out there designed to keep car occupants safe, and us UN-SAFE. I don't know what to think about the things that I ahve learned. In fact, I have been doing this for 12 years and I feel like a Rookie now, when it comes to extrication. I feel as if I have to RE-LEARN EVERYTHING! Anyway, Thanks Ron for your articvles, they have helped to IMMEASURABLE means in me helping to assure the safety of my crew(s) and myself when we are out there peeling and peeking now.
    Thanks again.

Comment

Hi Ron ,