Hydraulic vs. Saws

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hydraulic vs. Saws

Happy Holidays to all. This past year I moved to a new area and a new company. I have been a firefighter for 14 years, many of them as a line officer. I used both Hurst and Holmotro rescue tools. I loved the Holmotro because of the brute force and the non toxic fluid. (We had a Hurst tool burst on two of our members) The new company uses Sawzalls as their primary extrication tool. (Vertical patient removal) My question is two-fold. Is this a better way? and with the new model vehicles out, is there more of a danger doing roof removals vs door pops and side outs? I think so.

[This message has been edited by 86Rescuetech (edited 02-02-2001).]

We use both, and they are both equal in my opinion. Sawzalls work great for cutting all the posts on a car. We have found titanium in the roof of some newer vehicles and it will use up your best blade you have in approx 3" of cutting. have extras.

------------------
    Barry Butrymowicz FF/EMT
    The views expressed above in no way represent the views of Mountain Ambulance Service or Riverview Fire Department.

Remember if it is bleeding-bandage it, if it is on fire-put it out.
    and extricate when you have to.

Comment

[QUOTE]i have worked on a number of older as well as the newer spaceframe vehicles and find on the older cars hydraulic tool works better,i guess the design of the vehicle as well as the weight holds true.but with the newer vehicles,its diffucult to find good purchase points.i find the use of a good sawsall works wonders.but good stabilization is paramount.stay safe bros and happy holidays

Comment

We use both hydraulic and saw-zalls. If you have the manpower then have one on hydraulic and one on a sawzall. But if you can use two hydraulics together and if you feel more comfortable and just plain used to it. Then use 'em up. As long as you have the capability to use both at the same time.