Is First Responder a requirement?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is First Responder a requirement?

I am a firefighter at Long Lake volunteer Fire department over the last few years they keeping talking that First Responder is a “requirement” in the state of Illinois (where the governors make your license plates) for a firefighter does anybody have any document or statue stating this to be true? I have searched and can’t seem to find anything. I was looking for state or federal laws.

Thanks
    Steve Chapman, Secretary
    Long Lake Volunteer FD

no.................

Comment

Id imagine the state fire Marshall, bureau, etc etc whatever you call that branch of state government in the case would be the best people to consult.

Comment

Call the State or your rep.

I doubt if this would be true, but I have seen stranger things in the Fire Service. At issue would be the shear number of departments that would be gutted with this kind of unfunded mandate.

Can they do it? Sure.

Is it a good idea? Yep, but only if they are going to pay for it.

They would push alot of people out of the fire service though. Many will not have the time, will not make the commitment, and some just can't handle blood.
        HAVE PLAN.............WILL TRAVEL

Comment

It is required in Massachusetts. First responder is a 24 hour course with 8 hours of refresher a year.

My FD gets 2% of base salary for first responder, and if you are an EMT-B, you get 5% of base salary, so in actuality it is 7%.

This is for all ranks.
          ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
          Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Comment

Originally posted by DeputyChiefGonzo View Post