Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking for info about the past FDNY L-14 failure/collapse (for training purposes)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for info about the past FDNY L-14 failure/collapse (for training purposes)

I'm looking for any FDNY members who could assit me in some info on the ladder failure/collapse of 14 Truck. I believe this happened in the 1990's but I am not completely sure. If you would like you can PM me with any info you could assit me with. I am a fire service instructor whom teaches Aerial Device Operations and I have an imbedded video of the news report that was given when the failure occurred. However I have been unable to find any information as to what the final determination that caused the ladder to fail in the manner that it did. I believe I have a good conculsion as to why it occurred from watching the news video clip but do not want to speculate. I can assure you that this information will not be used in any demeaning way other then to support the video as to why the accident occurred for teaching purposes only.

Thanks,

ALSFirefighter

http://www.usfa.dhs.gov/downloads/pd...ons/tr-081.pdf

thats the report done by the USFA, i found it very helpful, hope it does the same for you

Comment

14 is a Tower ladder has been since the 60's also was one of the first two trucks to have the power saw. I believe they never failed but tipped over due to being short jacked. I can check with some of the senior guys at work, but thats what I remember.

Comment

Originally posted by ALSfirefighter