Military Experience

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military Experience

I have a question, I have been a firefighter in the military for about five years now, 4 of those were riding the rescue rig, and I should be out of the military by next year. I have good knowledge about the fire ground, I have the following certs.- FF 1, 2/ AARF/ Driver operator pumper, and mobile water/ Telecumunicator 1, 2/ rescue technician 1, and confined space / water rescue, SCUBA qualified, hazmat technician, Texas state EMT-B, and space shuttle rescue (this wont be much help I think, lol) What I was wondering if any of this matters in applying for a fire department? I realize there is no better job then a firefighter, so I am just hoping I won’t have to start all over again. I am looking to go work in Indiana, but I would appreciate any help I can get no matter what state thank you

I don't know where you're looking for a job (as far as state, etc), but in my area all that would look good on an application/resume. Around here, they require FF I and II and EMT-B. I don't know if Texas is a NREMT state or not, but it's not hard to get it if you wanted to try for it in a state that requires it. A lot of your other certs should help (ARFF, Driver/Operator, Rescue tech, confined space, water, and haz-mat in particular). Military service won't hurt, either. Good luck!

Comment

Try the Cape Canaveral Fire Department in Florida. Government contract employees and I would imagine that they would be okay with you having space shuttle rescue certification.
      Lieutenant/Paramedic

PTB-FTM

Leather Forever!!!!

Semper Fidelis / YAT-YAS

Comment