Houston FD academy...again?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Houston FD academy...again?

I havent been on in quite a while but it seems that when I have a question regarding the job I always find my way back here. I first came to the site asking about the job before I got into it. Now I come again asking for more thoughts...
    I graduated from Houston Comm. College fire school in May 06 (who actually does HFDs fire classes as well) and at the same time I recieved my EMT B. Since then I have been employed with a Vol. department on a duty crew while waiting to get into Houston. Well I took the non certified entrance test for Houston because at the time I wasnt. Here we are 4 months later and I am getting hired for that class. Now I am being told different things then before I took the test. Before I was told that since I am already a FF/EMT-B they would just switch me to a Paramedic class or send me to a station after an HFD policies course. Now that I have been hired I am being told that I will most likely have to go through the entire academy again, thats the EMT-B then Paramedic followed by FF portion. I dont know for sure yet what I will have to do. I will find out after the class starts on Sept 11 (I know what a day right).
    So here is my question what would you guys do if forced to go through it all over again? Stick out for 18 months of the same stuff or tell them no thanks Ill be back and go get my EMT-P seperate? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

PS Houston Fire Department is a dream job and I have had Captains in the department tell me that they are going to be requesting me so they can be my FTO. Alot of pressure.

If you are lucky enough to get the job offer do exactly this. Say "thank you" and then do whatever they tell you to do.

Comment

How bad do you want the be a memebr of the HFD? If you do not want it, there are thousands who would jump at the offer you have in front of you.