Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st alarm, 2nd alarm, going 3rd

Ok, most of you know I am new at this.

I don't believe I have heard (since I have been involved here in smallville) a 3rd alarm but one time.

I am currently listening to different dispatchers these days for a number of reasons. Mostly to learn and understand how things are done ofcourse.

I heard my first fire go to 3rd alarm the other night in Manhattan, then tonight my friend who is a LT and dispatcher spoke with me about a fully involved fire while it was happening.

I asked if it was a 2nd or 3rd alarm yet. In her area they don't call out alarms. They go by the number of dept's. they have called out. So her reply was simply the first due has arrived on scene with the type of trucks arriving and that they count by the number of depts' not alarms. I asked to keep me updated and it turned out 7 FD's were called.

I am curious how trucks/engines (and all other Apparatus) are called out in other states for a fully involved private dwelling. Do you call it alarms or dept's or something else?

*Just so you all know, I am adding this sentence to clarify my question. I am not repeating myself on purpose. (though I do seem to ramble on as some already know. : )

My questions really pertains to names. What do other Depts' use to describe the intensity of the fire, the next level? We call it alarms, do you call it a different name? If so, what is it?

If you have time to include who rolls out, please by all means list them up. (up to the 3rd alarm).
    Last edited by firetruckred; 08-23-2006, 08:39 AM.

Red- On the east coast, the number of companies assigned to an "alarm" varies, but the "average" I would say is:

For the initial assignment, or the initial "Box": 4 engine companies, 2 truck (ladder) companies, 1 rescue or squad company, and 2 chiefs, whether it be two batallions or a batallion and a deputy (senior shift supervisor.)