Myspace and the official stance of your fire department

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Myspace and the official stance of your fire department

Has any ones FD banned its members from posting pictures or other content bearing ANY department logos or names?

no, but since the logos are copyrighted, they have the right to not have them posted on your myspace
    If my basic HazMat training has taught me nothing else, it's that if you see a glowing green monkey running away from something, follow that monkey!

FF/EMT/DBP

Comment

Anyone, with any amount of common sense, would not even consider posting a name or photos that would identify themselves with a specific organization......"I'm a firefighter." Leave it at that.
      "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Comment

We recently have had an issue with this. Not so much the logo and pics but that a rookie was on the computer using myspace when he should have been going over the trucks and training. I personally hate myspace so i am a bit biased.

Comment

My take...

My department has no policy on this. However, I see no problem posting pictures of yourself in uniform or in bunker gear -- as long as your profile is above reproach.

As much as you feel anonymous posting on the Internet... There is always a paper (or would that be byte?) trail following you. So, if you're going to do or say anything shady or scandalous via MySpace, I'd limit the references to your fire department... Otherwise, you could be facing charges of conduct unbecoming.
          sigpic

Comment

Any photo that is posted on our department website is more than acceptable, but I don't believe there has been any commentary on this issue yet from our Chiefs. The reason I say any image on the department website is because victim's faces, license plates, etc. are blurred out as to not identify anyone but the FFs and the scenes.
            9/11/01 D.C. Joseph "Uncle Joe" Marchbanks
            Battalion 12