First Responder Class

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Responder Class

I just got on the Volunteer Fire Dept. Im going to be taking the first responder class starting on sept. 5th has anyone else here took that class??? how hard is it??? thanks

Chad

I'm an EMT and have never taken the First Responder course, but I know some guys who have and my guess is... hardly anyone fails that class. If you know how to slap a band-aid on it and administer O2, you'll be good to go!

(Obviously there is more to the class than that... but that's the jist of it!! )

My guess is every state does it differently, so it might vary in your neck of the woods.. but here the First Responder (or Medical Responder) is the easiest one to get.
    Do it because you love it, not because you love being seen doing it.

Comment

I agree, in Ohio its a 40 hour class and is rather easy.

Honestly, if you are serious about the fire service, whether career or volunteer, try to get out of the FR class and just go for your EMT Basic. (then Paramedic) The Basic class is a little harder, but it pays off for you and your citizens, in that you will be better prepared to help them.

Good luck whatever you decide.

Cheers,
      Scott

Dayton, OH
      www.miamivalleyfools.org

Comment

I just finished the first responder portion of my training last week here in SC. Wasn't bad at all. The CPR was a breeze for me, but that's because I've been qualified on it for the past 7 years as the AF requires it for my career field.

Do read through your book, but pay attention to the demonstrations and practice, practice, practice your techniques. Anyone can put answers down on a piece of paper, but its quite another to actually do it.