Need Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help

Not sure how to ask this so I'll just spit it out.
    I need hard information on registered sex offenders as volunteer firefighters.
    There's 2 reasons I'm asking for this help.
    1. I'm a volunteer firefighter and going to college working on my Bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice and am doing a paper on sex offenders in trusted postitions.
    2. There has been an issue arise at my station dealing with this.
    At our station, not only do we firefighters bring our children up to the station, we host an Explorer Post as well as work hand in hand with our local churchs and a cub scout pack that I help run.
    I know what the law in Georgia is on sex offenders, but no where does it state about them being in a postition of this type specifically. I know fire stations are supposed to be safe haven's and my personal opinion is that kinda takes off that list.
    Thanks for the help you can give!!!

I would tend to agree until I recently found out (not through personal experience) that a couple caught in the act in a public place (parked car, bushes etc) can apparently be required to register as sex offenders.

So I guess its not a matter of them being registered so much as what the actual crime was that required them to register.

I think having a register for sex offenders is a good idea but like many legal issues it appears that sanity may no longer apply. I want abusive crimnals registered, not a couple of teenagers who got caught fooling around in the back seat.

Comment