Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recoloring Helmets (and I don't mean leather)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recoloring Helmets (and I don't mean leather)

saw the thread on repainting leathers and had a similar question. i've been wanting to get a traditional style helmet for some time but don't have the cash for leather so i was gonna get a fibreglass one. probably a lion heratige. but right now i'm an emt and have a blue helmet, once i get my ff (probably not for a year or so) i'll get a yellow one. so.... without having to purchase a new helmet is it possible to anyone's knowledge to recolor a fibreglass helmet?
    Fir Na Tine
    Fir Na Au Saol

Yes, you can paint a fiberglass helmet with an enamel paint to "recolor" it. Just sand it down good, tape off the rubber edging & D ring. I would also remove the faceshield mounts, and the impact cap so that I am only working with the shell only. Prime it, and paint it. The hardest part will probably finding the "right" shade of yellow. Another option is just getting a bare bones shell from the manufacturer, and then putting your own impact cap and hardware on. Repainting is easy enough that I would just recommend that. You can leave the old reflective stickers on it, repaint over them and then remove 'em and then use the "unpainted" areas as guides to put the new ones on.
    http://www.sanantoniofire.org

IACOJ
    Got Crust?

We lucky few, ... we band of brothers

Comment

You can also use engine block paint. It holds up well to the heat.

Comment

I really SHOULD stay out of this one but I couldnt resist.. LOL
        ...but it has to do with matching the yellow color with manufactered helmets...try the striping paint that comes in a can that they use for highways...I have found thats about as close to "fire yellow" as you could get.

Donna C
        Fire Chief
        Bridge Canyon VFD
        http://cms.firehouse.com/dept/SeligmanAZ

Comment

A friendly warning