Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What kind of degree is best for fire investigation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of degree is best for fire investigation?

The college I'm attending does not have a degree specific for fire investigation. Is chemistry the next best thing? Right now I'm getting a Law Enforcement degree with a minor in Chemistry. I was thinking of going into LE at one point, but firefighting is much more satisfying for me. Any suggestions are welcomed. Thanks!

i don't know exactly how much it would help, but i am working towards my associates in Fire Science, which should help you attain what you are looking for as on of the classes i will take has to do with arson investigations. if not at your local college, you might check with your local community college as to whether or not it is available. good luck!
    <- Keepin My Mouth Shut and Ears Open...

Comment

I have a fire science degree and I teach fire science at a community college. A fire science degree is good. It sets you apart from your peers w/o one. But if you want to spend the rest of your life in fire investigations, go one step further...

If it was 1977 and I was doing it all over, my degree of choice would be fire protection engineering. There is no doubt that an engineer has more of a background in the proper way to conduct a scientific inquiry. The money is gobs ahead of what you could make as a street FI. Schools? OK State, Univ. of Maryland, WPI to name a few.

Trust me on this one.
      PROUD, HONORED AND HUMBLED RECIPIENT OF THE PURPLE HYDRANT AWARD - 10/2007.

Comment

University of New Haven has a degree in fire investigations.

The criminal courses that are needed for it gives you a minor in criminal justice, and the courses for investigations are similar for those required for fire administration.

Hope that helps, and makes some kind of sense.

Comment

thanks guys, this will help

Comment