This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• why

I have been a firefighter in the state of Oregon for 3.5 years now I have my basic ff, haz-mat ops, interface ff, driver, and am working on my ff1 now the question comes. I am Attending school in Ohio and the state of Ohio will not take my NFPA training from out of state so to do anything with my dept. here I am going to have to retake all of my ff classes. why is there not a national standard for ffs that all states will take with maybe just a 1 or 2 houre state class on codes and laws for that state?
    Jesse

It's not a perfect world. Every state has their own standards, too. And so do townships, county's, villages, etc... I have the same complaint. I have two Bachelor's in fire science and can't do much with them, not to mention all my Suffolk County courses. The only thing that I have going for me if I move is that I have National Firefighter I.
    "When I was young, my ambition was to be one of the people who made a difference in this world. My hope is to leave the world a little better for my having been there."
    -- Jim Henson (1936 - 1990)

Comment

Jesse,
      The Ohio Division of EMS (yes, firefighting certifications are handled by the div. of EMS) tries to administer reciprocity by matching out of state training to Ohio's three levels: