This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody on the Chicago FD??

If there is anybody on the Chicago FD, I am just wondering if the CFD still wears hip boots instead of bunker gear. When I grew up around Chicago that is all they wore. If so why, I mean are bunkers not safer. Just wondering. No dis respect ment to anybody

I am not with the CFD but I know I read in a magazine that they still dont use bunker pants. There fire department statistic for burns is down using the hip boots.

Comment

CVFD,
      I love the city, and therefore spend alot of time there. Being a f.f. I've visited some of the stations, and talked to the guys. Keep in mind I am not an expert on CFD!!!! I was at the commisary one day when a f.f. came in and exchaged his 3/4 boots for a new pair. I was shocked!!! He was'nt an "old timer" either! From the limited # of guys I have talked to it seems to be tradition, and mobility. I was'nt all that interested in that conversation cause' I've never worn the 3/4 boots, nor do I want to. I heard somewhere, sorry I don't recall where, that CFD is going to bunker pants. I'm not sure if this is mandatory or voluntary though. Sorry I could'nt shed more light on the issue.

Comment

So far last I heard voluntary.The CFD likes the hip boots and no hoods to keep guys from getting into situations where you get fried.Now before all those that love to bash hip boots and no hoods unloads on my home state dept.Everyone has a different way of doing it.I have seen the shots of Cali guys with just bunker coats and pants with workboots.I have seen others that wear no hoods.I have seen those that wear so much gear it is just stagering to think"how do they carry it all?"So before we go bashing lets remember one thing.We are all doing the same job.The way we do it may not match your SOP's but then again you dont match ours Stay safe fellas no matter what you wear

Comment