Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it to late to become a firefighter?

I am 26 yrs old and am wondering if it's to late for me to try to get into a career as a firefighter? I have no experience & no education as a firefighter. I have spent the last few years as a computer technician, but am finally at a place in my life where I want to chase that dream of being a firefighter. Any help would be great appreciated!!
    Big AT
    Libertyville, Illinois

BIGAT,

If you being 26 is the only thing then no, its not too late. I know plenty of guys who have gotten on in their thirties. Dont give up keep with it.
    Go raibh maith agat Go gcuire Dia an t-ádh ort! Dyfal donc a dyrr y garreg!!!!!

IN MEMORY OF THE "MOOSE" 1974-2002<br />Ni bheidh mo leitheid ar'ris ann.

Brothers till the end. "If they don't have GUINNESS in heaven we aint goin!"

Comment

No, the age thing isn't the only thing stopping me. My main concern is the education. I am trying to get enrolled in some classes at a local community college but nothing is offered until next semester. My concern is how long will I have to wait to get onto a Dept.? A local dept is hiring for part-time FFers, but I'm not sure what a "part-time" FFers hours are or what is expected of them. Is this something I should persue?

Comment

BIGAT most large Urban FD's require a long process for being hired, some like NYC rediculous. While 26 isn't old......most FD's already have a 'current' list going, so you need to wait for the next. My impression is that your better off with a small Dept, though the larger one's offer better Tours to pursue education!
        "All gave some...Some gave all!"
        9/11/01 Lest we forget!
        FDNYRR

Comment

BIGAT,