This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FDNY women needing recognition?

Here's my first attempt at starting a discussion on this forum. I'm not good at being skinned in public - so I guess I might as well learn.

Over the past few days I've seen stories on Firehouse.com, and on the evening news about women in FDNY feeling the need for recognition for their service at WTC and with the fire department in general (okay, it may be more than JUST that, but I think it sums it up in a nutshell.)

I ask...Why grab the spotlight now? I never saw the WTC tragedy as being a male/female issue. Its not news that there are a handful of females on FDNY - and their physical ability test is tough as hell. So...what was the point of this string of stories? Why now?

I applaud ANYONE....male or female, that makes it onto FDNY. And I'm kind of disappointed that the male/female issue was brought up at a time where I thought unity among firefighters was (or should be) stronger than ever. What the hell happened, and why the hell did this gender issue get brought up at a time like this?

Ok...open season on Krista begins

[ 12-05-2001: Message edited by: bgfdchick ]

We're all in this together. FDNY 9-11-01

well....well....

I tend to agree with you.. But..firefighters are in the lime light now and this was just another story that was bound to surface. Yes..it is no secret that FDNY test is hard and it is no secret that only a couple dozen females are on the department.

No matter who is being recognized...it keeps the fire department on the front burner and that is what we need. More support and more $$$.