Earrings?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Earrings?

I am a firefighter (male) and have been for 9 years. I have had (1) earring since I was 14 and recently got another one. I have worn them to the station and dont really see a problem with it. I was wondering if your department allows firefighters to wear them and what you think of it? Thank you for your imput.
    Andrew J. LaPrise

I'm older than dirt and as they say as you get older the terms broad minds and narrow hips simply reverse. Although I personally wouldn't be caught dead with a hole in my ear or anywhere else for that matter unless I decided to take up being a pirate, I will defend your right to do so vehemenently (or however you spell it). Unless your department has rules stating no members can wear them then in my opinion you have every right to. If you have rules saying it is OK for female members but not males then that is wrong. A rule for one member is a rule for all members.

Comment

My Volunteer Dept. has no issues with members of either gender having earrings or nose rings,provided they do not interfere with the correct fit or function of required safety equipment. Nor should they.
      On a personal note, I do find that the SCBA shoulder straps can irritate my nipple rings, if I don't get the straps tight enough.
      But I kinda like it.

William

Comment

Earrings are only an "issue" at the fire academy as is all jewelry and long hair (guys and girls). They don't want you getting hurt/burned. I take all of my earrings out for the fire academy. And I make a conscious effort to remove my hoops as I drive to the station because of the SCBA and turnout coat collar. Haven't had any problems with the belly button ring, either.....LOL.
        "When I was young, my ambition was to be one of the people who made a difference in this world. My hope is to leave the world a little better for my having been there."
        -- Jim Henson (1936 - 1990)

Comment