Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greatest need in the Fire Service Today?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greatest need in the Fire Service Today?

Hi, my name is Jeff Forester. I am a student at Milwaukee Area Technical College majoring in Fire Science. I have to do a paper for class, finding out what other firefighters think is, "the greatest need in the fire service today". I already have a lot of the training, money, and staffing covered. If any one has some other idea's this would be a great help. If you could leave your name, rank, and department, this would also be appreciated.
    thanks
    Jeff Forester

Just my opinion, but what I honestly believe the fire service needs more than anything is "community support." Without the support of your community, you're not going to have money, training, or staffing, possibly not even a department.

Mike Redshaw
    Chief
    Purdy Fire Department
    Purdy, Missouri

Comment

More input in relation to national building codes. I'm tired of sitting back, handcuffed, watching a building go up "to code" that I know is going to come down under fire load.

Lt. E-229
      FDNY

Comment

1) manpower

2) Community Support

Although, I believe #2 effects #1 on both bringing in new members and retaining members. Also, I have seen members leave from a lack of community support. So maybe #2 should be #1...

[ 10-31-2001: Message edited by: Adze ]
        IACOJ Agitator
        Fightin' Da Man Since '78!

Comment

1. Training
          2. High Quality PPE

Comment

I would definitely say community support and stricter building codes. Both of these are difficult to attain.