This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• scaried to death

i've been a "big strong fireman" for what seems like forever now, i grew up in the biz. i work full time as a 911 dispatcher and paid on call with city fire, i also work volly with rescue. anyway i was on a mva sunday it was over a cliff about 30 yards the under growth was a big problem making it hard to move around i was doing the
    extraction on the pass side of the veh, poped the door no big deal as we placed the pt on the backboard and started down to the bottom were the buggy was at ( the pt was in and out of coun.) i became entangled in the undergroth and had to remove my turnout coat to cont on with the pt, as soon as i did i got several scrratch from the brush about 30 later the pt begain thrashing around and his bloody head came in contact with my arms (were i just got the scratchs) i didn't really think about when we made it to the buggy and got the pt load he camly looked up at me and said " i'm hiv postive" i looked down at his blood all over my arms and begain to freak!some els took over pt care as i got out and begain to freak, i went into er were i was tested and so was the pt, he was postive with a high viral load and a very low t cell count, they start me on 6 different pills every 8 hours for at least the next month. i know i'am suppose to be brave but i'am scaried to death! has anyone had to deal with this! i believe the wait to see is going to "drive me off the deep end" the what if's are driving me crazy and the side effects of the meds are going to kill even if i didn't contract hiv!

I have been fortunate to this point. It only takes one incident though. You are in my prayers brother.

[ 10-02-2001: Message edited by: NY Smokey ]
    Tom

Never Forget 9-11-2001

Stay safe out there!

IACOJ Member

Comment