This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LAIRDSVILLE LIVE BURN DEATH

I AM AN ASSISTANT INSTRUCTOR ON A LIVE BURN TEAM IN ERIE COUNTY, NY. TO DATE IN OUR TRAINING , OVER 20 BURNS IN 3 YEARS, WE HAVE NEVER ( KNOCK ON WOOD) HAD A SINGLE INJURY INCLUDING MINOR SCRAPES BURNS ETC.WE PRIDE OURSELVES IN THIS FACT. I CANNOT FATHOM HOW ANY MEMBER CAN ACT AS A VICTIM IN SUCH A SCENARIO SEEING THAT THE OUTCOME OF THE RED DEVIL IS VERY UNPREDICTABLE.WE WOULD NOT CONSIDER DOING SUCH AND WE HAVE SOME VERY SEASONED TRAINING PERSONNEL ON OUR TEAM INCLUDING SEVERAL PAID FIREFIGHTERS.THE DEATH OF AN 18 YEAR OLD VOLUNTEER ( WHO IS MORE THAN LIKELY INEXPERIENCED) PROVES THAT FOOLING WITH THE FIRE CAN BE DANGEROUS.THIS DEATH WAS TRAGIC AND UNCALLED FOR AND HOPEFULLY THIS WILL NOT REFLECT NEGATIVELY ON THOSE LIVE BURN TEAMS THAT CONDUCT SUCH TRAINING WITH SAFETY AS THEIR #1 CONCERN...

Your attitude about the "unpredictable" "Red Devil" is exactly the reason that FF continue to die in training fires. It has happened before and will happen again if people don;t start to learn and remember the basics of fire dynamics.

The outcome of this incident 1000% predictable. How many room and contents fires do we go to that involve upholstered furniture? How many of them go to flashover in a short time? Answer: A whole lot of them. Why should this fire have acted any differently? Because it was a training fire? The science of fire is the same whether it is a job or a training fire.

Please tell me exactly what standard or recommended practice calls for using upholstered furniture as the source of smoke? Don't waste your time, you won't find one.

You want a shock? Go to the web page for the National Institute of Standards and Technology's Bureau of Fire REsearch Laboratory. Navigate through the site and look up the heat release rate for a typical sofa bed. Then tell me if this was "unpredictable".