This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asthma

Does asthma limit (or eliminate) my chances at entering the fire service? It's fully controlled with a daily inhaler, as well as an albuterol inhaler before physical activity, and I haven't had a serious attack for three years now. Am I out of the running before I even start, or are there FF's with this condition? Thanks for any help.
    "...you're such a gentle soul, it's killing me to know, when will i see your face?" -Vince Gill

To answer your question, no, it doesn't eliminate your chance for entering the fire service. I myself have asthma, I've had it for almost all of my life. I've been a volunteer firefighter for over 10 years now. It has limited me at times due to the severity of mine. Some times I tire easier than I should, but for the most part no problems. I just have to make sure I have my airpack on is all. Now as far as being a career firefighter, I don't know, I can remeber an article a couple years ago about a career FF who lost his job because he had to have his asthma medication with him. The department in question said that if he couldn't go all shift with out it, then he was unfit for duty. I believe there was a lawsuit filed but I don't remember the outcome. So in that aspect it may limit it, you might not be able to get on at a career department, but for the most part, I'd say any volunteer department would be happy to have you. I hope this helps. God bless and stay safe.
    Randall E. Guntrum FF/EMT
    If lights, sirens, and air horns do not attract the attention of a driver, he or she is too drunk to be assisted by a paint scheme.

Comment

Asthma, if controlled, doesn't disqualify you from entering the fireservice either as a volunteer or career Fire Fighter. Just keep in shape and you'll be fine. Put your focus on cardio-vascular workouts and excersizes that will build you stamina and lung capacity.

[ 08-01-2001: Message edited by: GBordas ]

Comment