Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What kind of education does your dept. require to be hired?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of education does your dept. require to be hired?

I am just wondering what the education requirement is for the hiring process of some departments. I am a high school student and am wondering if I should attend a fire college like Univ. of Maryland or Texas A&M or just apply for a job right out of high school. If you could post what you think/know about the hiring process for a career department I would highly appreciate it. Thank you and stay safe!

------------------
    -JaY-

In my opinion, one of the biggest perks to get a career fire department job is the veterans preferance points. With a military tour of duty completed honorably you receive 5 to 10 points added to your passing test score. This usually places you, (as long as you scored fairly well on the test), well at the head of the civil service list. For a competitive civil service exam, prior education usually does'nt mean squat,(which is unfortunate). If you are serious about becoming a firefighter and competing on a civil service exam---GET THE VET POINTS......

Jim Crawford
    Pittsburgh Bureau of Fire

Comment

Jay,

It depends on where you live. Where I am its all civil service, you take the test, get your score and wait your turn. There are some area's, (NYC, etc.) that require college credits or a certain amount of years of military service. Contact the office of personnel of whatever municipalities you are interested in working in. If its civil service and you score you'll get hired. Just keep in mind it doesn't happen overnight. Take as many tests as you can for practice, and get in shape for the agilities that come also. PB is right, the vet points helped (at least I got something out of the Marine Corps besides college cash), but you can still get hired without em.