This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going Career, what should I know?

Well, I finally decided to do it. I have been volunteering for more then three years now, since I was 18. Now that I am 21 I can't get enough of the fire department, so I decided to look into going career. The department I am looking at will not be hiring until late this year, so until then, I have been trying to get as much of everything that I can.

Apart from taking as many courses as I can, and learning as much about the department I am trying out for, is there anything else I should be doing?

Thanks for the help.

If you are not in a cardio and weight training program yet now would be a good time to start. There are also some fine self-help books out there that can help you prepare for the writtn exam. Good luck.

[This message has been edited by Smokeetr4 (edited 05-21-2001).]

Comment

I'm not sure what certifications are like in canada, but in the states, for the most part, volunteer departments require a lower cert level than career departments. Because of this many volunteers have to do some extra classes to get these new certs.

Another issue is, unless this department you speak of has written you a letter that says "you _will_ be hired on such and such date" I wouldn't bank everything on that one dept. Start puttin in apps everywhere and anywhere, eventually somewhere will pick you up full-time.

On last thing, if you are getting hired onto a 24/48 o 24/72 schedule, remember that even an hour commute isn't that bad anymore, because you're only driving every third/fourth day.

Hope this helps.. good luck and welcome to the best career of your life

------------------
      FF. Mike Burnes
      Whitehall Fire Division

Comment

Since I have some time, maybe I should take some cooking classes. I am sure that would help out

Comment