Probie question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probie question...

Hey guys/gals, I am fairly new to my dept (3 months) and wondering why FF's refer to the stations with the "s" after the the number. Example: "25's" I was going to ask a senior FF but figured I would ask here first. Thanks in advance!

Gb1k's House?

25's Station or 25's for short
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZdEH...e_gdata_player

Comment

13's house....24's first in...etc.
      Career Firefighter
      Volunteer Captain

-Professional in Either Role-

Originally posted by Rescue101
      I don't mind fire rolling over my head. I just don't like it rolling UNDER my a**.

Comment

Generally, it indicates what apparatus is housed there.....Eng 25 is housed there - so it is 25's house...etc.....

Comment

Originally posted by gb1k View Post
          Hey guys/gals, I am fairly new to my dept (3 months) and wondering why FF's refer to the stations with the "s" after the the number. Example: "25's" I was going to ask a senior FF but figured I would ask here first. Thanks in advance!
          We dont. At all. Going to 13...Detailed to 19...Richard Head works at 14.

Comment

We don't use the plural either.
            Career Fire Captain
            Volunteer Chief Officer

Never taking for granted that I'm privileged enough to have the greatest job in the world!

Comment

Originally posted by BoxAlarm187 View Post
              We don't use the plural either.
              That would be the posessive. Plural indicates multiples, posessives have the 's.
              Shawn M. Cecula
              Firefighter
              IACOJ Division of Fire and EMS

Comment

Originally posted by gb1k View Post
                I was going to ask a senior FF but figured I would ask here first. Thanks in advance!
                Do not take this the wrong way.