Is this wrong for an explorer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this wrong for an explorer?

Hi. I'm an explorer with a large career fire department in California.We are given the privilege to ride on fire department apparatus to observe and see what being a firefighter is really like. I've always buckled up when I was a kid...and now that I get to drive, I still continue to do so. My question is this...I've rode at different stations on different shifts and from what I see...a lot of the firefighters do not buckle up and the ones that do don't remind others to buckle up.

I understand that I'm an explorer. I'm not a firefighter. I'm not even a rookie. I'm a high school student given the oppurtunity to observe and ride with firefighters as part of a program. I'm not an EMT...I'm not a medic. I try to work and do my share of the chores when I ride out and are on good terms with the crews.

My question is this: Would it be wrong for me to remind a firefighter to buckle up? What about an officer?

My gut instinct says that I'm there to learn and absorb information. I'd feel out of place and quite frankly...scared to say something like that to a firefighter, much less to a Lt. or Capt. But...at the same time...I've read that the #2 cause of firefighter fatalities is because of fire department involved accidents with the majority of deaths being from firefighters who were not clicked in.

Part of the way I look at it is that...what can they do to me if I do speak up? You can't punish somebody for caring about you. It might be out of place...but it might just save your life.

I haven't said anything so far...but I'd like some suggestions from you guys. If I did mention it...I wouldn't just say "Hey LT...buckle up."...I'd probably refrain and go with a little joke..."Buckle up everyone...*laugh*..." - something like that to ease the "tension".

Any suggestions?