New Fire helmet concepts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Fire helmet concepts

I am a University of Cincinnati student working on a project to design and improve the fire helmet. Last month I posted a survey on these forums to gather information and opinions from firefighters around the nation and the response I received was overwhelming and fantastic.

Now I have a new survey which show three of my proposed ideas for a new fire helmet. They are hand drawn, explained and labeled. If anyone out there can spare a few minutes to review them and answer a few questions I would greatly appreciate it. I am looking for as much feedback as possible, both constructive and critical, so feel free to be as honest as you like.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/3GH5W3Q

If you have taken one of these surveys before, I encourage you to take this survey as well. It is a new survey with additional questions at the request of my professor.

Thank you for all you help thus far.

Sincerely,

Tom

Thank you far all you help thus far

I will be sure to take your survey later today (don't have the time now), but one thing just off the bat I'd like to mention. You MUST be sure these will interface properly with our SCBA masks. This is an issue in a few places, 1) the mask contacting with the helmet itself (ESPECIALLY in your Concept C design) 2) that there will be enough room under the helmet for the mask netting/hood.

Another, smaller point would be the fact there is no brim. I realize the brim increases the overall size and profile of the helmet but these are essential to making sure crap doesn't go down our backs!

Comment

Survey done. Hope I have helped you.
      “I am more than just a serious basketball fan. I am a life-long addict. I was addicted from birth, in fact, because I was born in Kentucky.”
      ― Hunter S. Thompson

Comment

it seems like cool idea. So here is my thoughts on it,