Morning Pride vs. Cairns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Morning Pride vs. Cairns

I've been set on getting a Cairns Classic 1000 helmet for some time now. This afternoon I happened to be at my department's quartermaster on an unrelated matter, and the quartermaster and I happened to get talking about helmets, and he told me that the Morning Pride Ben II was actually better. He said something about their "fyr-glass" material being better than fiberglass, and I said I thought the 1000 was made from a kevlar composite, and he said that's worse. So now I'm not sure what to get.

I found out later the Classic 1000 is actually made from a fiberglass-reinforced kevlar material. I have no idea what "fyr-glass" actually is.

A bit of back-story: I'm a volunteer EMT. The county FD issues us helmets, I'm not sure which brand or model, other than they are the modern style. I want to get my own helmet partly because I prefer the traditional style and partly because I want some freedom to customize it a bit (staying within safety standards, of course). As an EMT, I shouldn't be exposed to a lot of heat, but I'm more concerned with debris protection. For example, if I'm in the back seat of a car holding c-spine stabilization on a trapped person during an extrication.
    -Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert

The comments and opinions I express are solely my own and do not necessarily represent those of any employer or volunteer organization with which I am associated. Nobody is responsible for anything I say other than I alone.

This is a personal preference...

Comment

If I just asked, "Which one do you like better," yes, that'd be subjective. That's not what I'm asking. I'm asking which one protects better. That question regards a matter of fact, not subjective preference.