Helmet Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Helmet Question

Hey guys, new here but I have been reading the boards for a while now. I am a newly hired firefighter and just had a quick question for you guys. I have a Cairns 880, which is perfect for me because I have a weird shaped head and helmets look bad on me because they sit so high on my head, like a top hat! The 880 actually fits and looks good because it has that lower profile or whatever.

My question is...is there a leather helmet that is kinda similar in the way it sits to the Cairns 880? I know there isnt anything completely the same, but I wanted to see if anyone could help me. Thanks guy.

Not that I'm aware of. Sorry.
    Stay Safe
    Bull

“Guys if you get hurt, we’ll help you. If you get sick we’ll treat you. If you want to bitch and moan, then all I can tell you is to flick the sand out of your slit, suck it up or get the hell out!”
    - Capt. Marc Cox CFD

Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result.
    -WINSTON CHURCHILL

Comment

The Paul Conway is probably the closest "leather" you'll find out there.

Welcome to the forums....
      Career Fire Captain
      Volunteer Chief Officer

Never taking for granted that I'm privileged enough to have the greatest job in the world!

Comment

You are worried about how your helmet looks ? I would be more concernrd with how it protects me --- then again thats just me -- but seriously -to answer your question -- get you a cairns leather - get a big -crawfish pot - boil it untill soft - then mold it to your head - kinda smarts - but dang you will look good.
        ?

Comment

Find a large FD convention (FDIC or the such) and go check out the vendors. You'll usually find manufacturers or stores there with samples. Try them on until you find one that FITS you and PROTECTS you like it should. Looking cool is nice, but getting burned or injured sucks.

Comment