What does "Risk a lot" mean?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does "Risk a lot" mean?

I know this is a bit long so if your to busy too read it, no problem just skip on by .

I will go back in time a little bit to when I was a new firefighter. I was single and didn’t have any kids so I was definitely ready to risk my life to save a life. It was a no brainer for me, if I get a call for a working house fire with a known rescue go ahead and punch my ticket because I am going in. I don’t look at the ticket to see if it’s only one way. If your single without children right now then chances are you feel the same way and if you started your career the same as me, single without children than you also most likely felt the same way I did at the time. I held on to this philosophy for many years and I don’t know this for sure but I would think the majority of firefighters out there Family or not would agree with me (not all but the majority).

So now let’s fast forward a bit to a time when I now have a family of my own. My mind set has changed, but it should change right? I now have to ensure that my family is taken care of, I want to see my child grow and experience life, I want to teach her to read, then teach her to drive and I want to walk her down the aisle. So I still risk my life every shift but now the “calculated manner” means a whole lot more than it did before. If I get a call for a working house fire with a person trapped I will still punch the ticket but now I take a good look at it and make sure it’s a round trip. Isn’t that what I am supposed to do? When you read my tactics as a single firefighter did you think to yourself “freelancer” or “Johnny save the world”? You probably thought “there shouldn’t be a firefighter on any truck that’s going to risk his life in such a reckless manner”. Well don’t be so quick to judge me.