This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Firemen and nooses...Why?

Okay, I am an instructor for the local tech college on my off days from the fire department. I teach a vriety of classes and one of them is ropes. Invariably in every class one or more students is messing around tieing or attempting to tie a noose. What gives? It has no practical use in firefighting can be construed as harassment, or a threat by some students, and frankly wastes my time and theirs.

Anyone else experiencing this and how do you handle it?
    Crazy, but that's how it goes
    Millions of people living as foes
    Maybe it's not too late
    To learn how to love, and forget how to hate

Maybe it's just as simple as it's the most famous rope knot. Give someone who has no experience with ropes or knots a piece of rope, and what is the first thing people think of?
    Just a typical moronic, childish, idiotic munchkin.

Comment

Originally posted by Whocares View Post
      Maybe it's just as simple as it's the most famous rope knot. Give someone who has no experience with ropes or knots a piece of rope, and what is the first thing people think of?
      That's what came to mind to me as well. I don't think it's just firefighters, it's anyone with no experience with rope.
      "A fire department that writes off civilians faster than an express line of 6 reasons or less is not progressive, it's dangerous, because it's run by fear. Fear does not save lives, it endangers them." -- Lt. Ray McCormack FDNY

"Because if you don't think you're good, nobody else will." -- DC Tom Laun (ret) Syracuse

Comment

Originally posted by FyredUp View Post