Rolling code 3 passing on the right regularly

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rolling code 3 passing on the right regularly

I have been I have been a police police officer for more than 25 years in a city with millions of people and the worst traffic in the United States. After retiring I moved to the mountains and joined the fire department as a paid call firefighter. It's basically a volunteer that receive a paycheck as required by California state law and Workers Compensation Insurance. I am EVOC certified as an instructor. I have noticed that one state in particular has what are called fire police which I find a curious name since they have no powers of arrest authority. As I have read based on the state's law only a captain or a lieutenant may roll code 3 with lights and siren.

Watching videos I've noticed watching videos I've noticed that in one particular jurisdiction there is an individual that goes on 10 minute code three runs to put traffic cones out. The biggest issue I have with this is that the driver regularly uses the right hand shoulder at a high speed with a siren activated. Drivers are conditioned to pull to the right when hearing the sound of a siren. We taught our officers not to use the siren when passing on the right until coming to an intersection and then clearing the intersection and going from there. In fact, we teach our officers and our firefighters to use the center median whenever available. This isn't always possible and I understand that.