Storing apparatus outdoors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Storing apparatus outdoors

OK, here's one for debate. A neighboring department just purchased a new rescue truck, from what I understand in the neighborhood of $300-$350K. The problem: it won't fit in their old station and the new station is not done. Now, they could send it to another station in the same town but that apparantly is not an option (politics). In the meantime, they have it sitting next to their station, in a temporary vehicle tent (canvas top, no sides).

Now the weather is getting colder (it's in the Northeast U.S., highs in the 40's, lows at night in the 20's) and the vehicle is still sitting outside. It doesn't to my knowledge have a water tank or pump but it still has a diesel engine and has hydraulic tools on it.

My question: wouldn't you think that the cold weather would be bad for the truck? Are they asking for trouble or am I just imagining things? I'm not a mechanic or anything but I thought cold and diesel spelled trouble.

Any thoughts?

Possible that it has an engine block heater and is plugged into the building to keep it warm?
    "This thread is being closed as it is off-topic and not related to the fire industry." - Isn't that what the Off Duty forum was for?

Comment

From what I was told, there is no heater block and they are debating running an extension chord for the charging system. That's it.

Comment

I would think it would be a better idea to house it somewhere else, but it most likely would not hurt it at all to be outside.
        Get busy livin, or get busy dyin. - Shawshank Redemption
        IACOJ

Comment

Just wondering, does it have any medical equipment on it?

Comment

I don't know for sure. If it does, it's probably just a jump kit with basic supplies.

Comment

Originally posted by LtSuperG