New truck spec's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New truck spec's

Hello, I am a firefighter/EMT at a small department, we are a combination department. We run approx. 750 calls a year. We have a 24 hour station and an 8 hour day station. This gives us 10 full-time firefighters, not counting chief and asst. chief. And we have 10 or so volunteers. We are currently looking at putting a new truck out to bid to replace our 1996 custom smeal. It has been a good truck, however we want to make sure we do the next one right and not just of the fly buy the cheapest truck out there. To do this we have a truck commitee in which I am on. putting the specs together we have hit a block several want a federal Q. I am in favor and with others pushing for. I need help on finding material on the benifits of a federal Q. All the big cities around us them and the clear the intersections with greater ease than a electric siren. Several of the firefighters are concerned that a federal Q pulls to much amp's and is going to run and kill the electrical system. How do professionaly show the benifits and educate oneself on this subject? Any help would be much appreaciated.

Originally posted by llieutard View Post