Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radio

Hello,

I am new to EMS and firefighting, and I am wondering what kind of scanners you all use. I am about to join a volunteer fire department in my town and was looking at scanners, but wanted to take a poll and see what kind of scanners people use and what they think of them.

Do people even use scanners anymore or are we on pagers now?

In My Opinion The Bearcat 350a Is The Best Scanner. Also Depending On The Dept You Join They May Issue A Pager, But I Know Some Dept Make You Purchase Your Own.
    Good Luck
    YOU ONLY NEED TO BE STUPID ONCE TO BE DEAD FOREVER!

Comment

Originally posted by RAMFIRE42 View Post
      In My Opinion The Bearcat 350a Is The Best Scanner.
      I agree, good scanner but most departments should issue pagers.
      "In general terms, firefighting isn't always about putting the fire out; its about making sure anything else doesn't catch on fire. What's burned is burned. Once you understand this, your tunnel vision is replaced by effective strategy."

Comment

that's what I have also, the only thing I don't like is it don't have the priority function otherwise it's a good scanner

Comment

It depends on what you need out of the scanner. I use a Radio Shack Pro-96. It all depends on what type of radio system your department has also.
          Marshall Griffiss EMT/FF
          Chaires Capitola Fire Rescue
          Tallahassee, Fl.
          www.stitchingbydesign.net
          Washington Lodge #2 F&AM
          Past Master
          Ham Radio: N4DOG General Class
          IACOJ

Comment

First you need to find out what type of radio system your department uses. If it is a trunked system you will need a trunking scanner. Some still use VHF radios. Careful about carrying a mobile scanner in the car; some states require an amateur license to carry one.

Comment