Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your "real job" resume

Hi everyone!

I have a question that is specific to volunteers.
    Do you think listing your Volunteer Fire Company affiliation is a good idea for your "civilian" resume?

I work in IT and am contemplating a new gig, my first job switch since joining the fire service (yeah I am still a probie, but pretty active in my company).

While most people would consider volunteer firefighting to be a noble undertaking, I am also aware that a prospective employer might consider it something that distracts from what they are looking for. Or worse, the image of the stereotypical gung ho yahoo might come to mind...

I tried searching the threads for a similar question and didn't see one. Thanks in advance for your input!
    Dan

I think it looks good on a resume. Shows you are interestetd in th ecommunity and you plan on staying around awhile.
    J.J. Bichard, Chief
    Devola Vol. Fire Co.
    Marietta, Ohio

"A few, serving many"

Comment

Definitely, and I would also use my chief and or officers as a reference. Your fellow firefighters know the true side of you better than any other employer's you could work for, in my opinion.

I give my all to my dept though, so I would feel very compfortable in doing so.

Comment

I always have, proud of it.
        Josh Ball
        FF/EMT - Zoneton Fire Protection District
        PSO II - Louisville International Airport
        Deputy - Bullitt County Sheriff's Office

Comment

Especially if you have administrative responsibilites with the FD can be related the real world job you are pursueing. It also shows the emplyer that have have a sense of dedication to what you do, volunteer or paid.
          Train to fight the fires you fight.

Comment

Since I am a Human Resources type person and I review resumes all the time my answer is:

YES, YES, YES!

Comment