2 Departments?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 Departments?

Brief info on myself, i'm a Probationary Firefighter for the dept of the town I live in. It's a very small town with an equally small department that yields about 100 calls a year. The more time that passes the more humbled I become by my lack of experience, and my need to practice and train as much as possible. Which is why i'm in the process of joining a dept in the next town over. They have everything my dept doesn't: More calls, better equipment, more members, more commitment. I can't actually leave my current department either because of training and gear my Chief has helped with, so I owe them reciprocity.

Does anyone else have experience with this, anyone that also works with two volunteer departments? Anyone with advice or perspective on the matter? I remember a friend of mine from school (also a volunteer) warned me that I should be careful of what department I get into, but when you're new and desperate you take what you can get I suppose.

It depends a lot on where you are.

In NY you can't belong to two departments, although it is possible to arrange to be able to respond with another department on a regular basis. That's sometimes done if someone works in another department's response area and can get away from work, or for "bunk-in" programs associated with colleges where the student lives at (and responds with) a station while attending school, but still belongs to his/her "home" department.

If it's legal where you live, then that's one obstacle out of the way.

But you can't forget small town politics. There are those who will view such a member as a traitor for being involved with "those" guys. If you can deal with it and/or overcome it, you're golden.

There's a lot of us in the same boat. I'd almost bet that the bulk of the volunteer fire departments in this country are very similar to yours - 100 calls a year and about five working structure fires.