Just signed up for EMT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just signed up for EMT

Been thinking about going to school for EMT for a while. Found out a couple of other firefighters from my department are going this fall, and I was able to get signed up and registered. I start EMT-B Monday along with BIO 103 for EMT-P prereq. Nervous, but excited!

With the right instructor it is a lot of fun. Enjoy and good luck.

Comment

I agree with Acklan. I loved EMT school. If you enjoy talking with people and interacting with them when they are hurt or sick, then you'll love EMT. Let me know if I can help or if you have any questions!!

Have fun,
      Pete

Comment

Thanks for the encouragement, guys! I used to be a driver back years ago (volunteer system), but never went through EMT or anything. Now the volley trucks are all but shut down. I don't really have a desire to work for a private company, but love to help and learn, so I think this will be good for me. I'm sure I'll be back on here asking LOTS of questions!

Comment

We look forward to hearing about your progress.

Comment

Dont know how it is there but in NY its pretty easy. NY practical 2 stations are CPR related so they are asy. 1 station is spinal immobilazation you get either KED or Long Board. Just remember on those check your PMS and c spine stabilization before and after everything you do to your pt. 1 station is random skills O2 , splinting, bleeding and shock. 2 big stations are trauma and medical assesment. Memorize those till they flow off your tounge, then plug the scenarios in. Remember to look at your pt. and physically do the skill while verbalizing every single minute detail. I got perfect scores on medical and trauma.