Pre-employment Physical and blood pressure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre-employment Physical and blood pressure

I am currently a POC firefighter and am nearing my goal of becoming career! I have made it to the last steps of the hiring process and couldn't be more excited. That being said, I recently had my pre-employment physical and my blood Pressure was far higher than I have ever seen it before 150/100 pulse 90. The POC department I'm on had our annual physical 2 weeks prior and my blood pressure was normal for me 130/80 pulse 60. At the time of the pre-employment physical the Doc didn't say much other than I must be pretty nervous.

my understanding is that in some locations those values during my physical could be high enough for rejection. Does anyone have experience with this? is it common to be automatically DQ'd, or is it likely I'll be sent to my regular physician to verify that is not my normal blood pressure? This was about a week ago and I haven't heard if i was "favorable" or "unfavorable" for hire yet. Just thought i would see what you all think.

for anyone curious about what went on at the physica,l it was a long questionnaire on medical history, drug test, ht/wt, vision, blood pressure, spirometer, flexibility, ekg stress test up to 10 METs, blood work. and a chest X-ray

Looks like they would have had you rest and taken it a few more times.

That is what most good medical people would do.

Maybe you should have also asked, for that.

I am thinking that it should not matter.

Are you normal weight and size????
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZdEH...e_gdata_player

Comment

Yeah pretty normal, 5'8" 170 lbs Male.

Comment

Originally posted by Cfd24 View Post
        Yeah pretty normal, 5'8" 170 lbs Male.
        Sounds like you have a job offer???

Comment