Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help for Fire 1

Hi Everyone

I am new to this whole fire/ems service advetnure. I just got my EMT which was a little diffcult and then started my fire 1 class and omg is it hard!! I am failing the class and really struggling with everything but the praticals are killing me! Any advice on what to do will be great I do study but i just dont get it. Any other reference books out there I can use and what about the praticals. Also the guys in the class are really giving me a hard time ( i am 1 0f 2 girls) any advice on how to deal with that are they just trying to see if i can handle it and be one of the guys? I am really sruggling here and I want to succed but I am afaid I wont anything will help.

Thanks

Firefighter 1 is a breeze compared to getting your EMT certification.

Get your own personeal copy of the the IFSTA Essentials of Firefighting or Jones and Bartlett's version of the book, depending on which edition the certifying agency is using.

Be the first to volunteer for demonstrations... when it comes time for grading, you will have done it already and know where your weaknesses are so you can improve on them. Watch each demonstration and make mental notes.

Keep practicing things like knots, ladder raises, fireground hydraulics, etc. The skills you don't practice and use are the ones you forget first.

Pay attention in lectures. Whatever is said in class can and may show up on an exam.

As far as those giving you a hard time... show them a chink in your armor, they will keep picking at it.

When they give you a hard time, ask them point blank what their problem is. Most will go "duh..... I don't know"

Don't try to use feminine charm as a way to get sympathy.. all things considered, you are "one of the guys" for all intents and purposes.

The fireground doesn't ask age, sex, creed or color... it kills firefighters despite what they are.