Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Job/Plan

Hello

I am Kosuki and I am new to the fourm but not FireFighting. I am 17y/o and I wana be a firefighter, the only thing stoping me is my College path. Maby you guys can read this and help me.

Step 1. I want to get my EMT under my belt.
    Step 2. This is my problem. Should I get my AA so I can get my Paramedic or should I go into the Fire Acad?

I know alot about the fire services b/c i have done almost 25 ridealongs with Morro Bay Fire Dept. in CA. So I want to be a firefighter I am not sure what path to take in steps to be one.

It all depends, where do you want to be a fire fighter. Find out what the department you want to be on requires you to have. Once you know that, apply, apply, apply. Get what you need, and work your way onto the department. Keep in shape, all of that stuff.

Also, going to school never HURT anyone's chances, especially with the recent trend of requiring more and more college to get promoted. Basically, if you want a degree, get one. The Fire Department will still be there in 2, or 4 years.

As for Paramedic, if it will help you go right ahead. But only get it if you want to, and like it. You won't do you, your employer, or your patient's any good, if you hate EMS work, and went and got paramedic.

Other than that, GOOD LUCK!

Comment

I would go into the academy first and then get EMT while going for a Fire Science degree, thats what I am doing anyway.

Comment

Originally posted by ACfire1 View Post
        I would go into the academy first and then get EMT while going for a Fire Science degree, thats what I am doing anyway.
        Maybe on the east coast that's good advice...in CA, however, a whole different story applies.