Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When to start?

Hello again!

I'm in need of a little advise concerning what to-do next. I was an on-call Firefighter for two years, but had to stop due to college. I then rejoined after college, and now working on my level 1 (College prevented me from finishing my last two classes of level 1). I have noticed that the FDNY is now testing. Should I test even though I don't have level 1? Or should I wait until they test again (by that time I'll have level 2)?

Any other information would be great!

I went to college for Computer Science (2 year College), and now kicking myself that I didn't stick with Firefighting. I'm 24 years old now, and like many others out there, I want the "best job in the world" a great deal. Though I look at all the new recruits now and see that they are 18 and fresh out of High School. I'm fit, but still feel a little old to be getting into such a job. I'm wrong about my age, right?

Your not to old by any means. There are positives and negatives about being younger just like being older. I would test at any department possible to get all the experience you can. That way when the department you really want to work for begins testing you have all the confidence in the world and know what to expect. A lot of large cities could care less about your age and what you have already done. They just want a decent good person. They know they can teach you how to be a fireman.

Good luck and don't ever give up on your dreams.

Comment

From what I understand FDNY dosn't require a FFI or FFII certification, they put you though their academy even if you are certified. Send in your applicaton for the written before the dead line, or go ahead and wait the 4 years till the next written. I would say go through the process with FDNY and while waiting go ahead and get your FFII certification and get a job at a local dept, etc.

Please correct me if my info is wrong.

Comment