Amber lights and POV's?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amber lights and POV's?

Let me start by saying that I have "NO" wish to have red or blue lights on my POV. I am interested in having amber lights as added saftey. Before I ask the question, let me explain:

I am a rookie and I'm already the training officer with my volunteer department outside of a rural town in arizona. I'm already the training officer because I passed my fire marshals test in June and that makes me more experienced then most in my department. It's already been proven to me that I'm most likely to be first on the scene with my POV (Collegues will show with department apparatus after I arrive with my POV). Because I'm most likely to be first on the scene with my POV I am intersted having amber lights as added safety. My intention is NOT to be driving down the road with amber lights flashing but rather have the amber lights flashing when I arrive on the scene (Again, for safety reasons.).

I've searched the internet and found a law (That generally refers to the use of additional lights) that states generally that a vehicle (Other then emergency vehicles) can have either amber or white in the front and either amber, white, or red in the rear window. But this does not specifically mention volunteer firefighters with POV.

My question:
    Does anyone know of a rule/regulation that specifically mentions volunteer firefighters, POV, and amber lights?

If no one knows of any rule/regulation, does anyone have any incidences whether they were harrassed by law enforcement?