Not sure where to go.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not sure where to go.....

Very green to all of this. I currently work as a cable installer (go figure) and have been thinking about a career change, like many others have always wanted to be either a firefighter or policeman....currently leaning more so towards a firefighter. Just have a strong passion to help others, and would do anything to help in any situation. Just kind of doing some research on firefighting, I make a pretty decent living just would like some info on where to get started, like should I try being a volunteer firefighter first or try taking some college classes???

Any info anyone has would be great, I have nothing but respect for anyone who is/was/trying to be a firefighter.

If it was me, I would probably find a local volunteer fire department and start there. Inquire about their membership process, requirements to remain an 'active' member, etc. Volunteering would probably give you the best idea as to what the job entails; plus you get the opportunity to train, run calls, and gain experience/certifications all for free. I would take that route before I started paying for college classes.

What part of the country are you located?
    Do it because you love it, not because you love being seen doing it.

Comment

I live in IL in Woodstock.......close to IL/WI border

Comment

I can't offer much help with IL, but you might consider posting in the Illinois section of the Forums. I know there are several guys on here from IL and they might be able to direct you in the right direction in reference to the FD.
        Do it because you love it, not because you love being seen doing it.

Comment