Criminal History and My Dream Job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Criminal History and My Dream Job

I'm currently in the Chicago Fire Department testing process, and I'm dying to become a "Paid guy", in a high volume area. Currently I'm a volunteer FF / EMT- B, just working and plugging away getting ready for Medic class.

Getting down to the point, recently in July and August I pumped and ran gas 3 times for a total of 179 dollars and change. Aside from some work release and restitution with a fine, I received a Class D Felony for theft, which in a year will be knocked down to a class A misdemeanor *I'm going to try and have my attorney have it knocked down sooner then that*

Bottom line, with a misdemeanor, do my chances for hire get any worse?

Your dream job ...

Shoulda thought of that before you decided to steal the gas.

My guess is you don't have a chance ... it is TOO recent. But I am not a firefighter, all I know is what I've read on here over the years when this type of issue comes to light. It will come out during your background check. I'm thinking it won't matter if it is a misdemeanor charge or not. But again, I could be totally off base.

Good luck, and clean up your act.
    September 11th - Never Forget

I respect firefighters and emergency workers worldwide. Thank you for what you do.

Sheri
    IACOJ CRUSTY CONVENTION CHAIR
    Honorary Flatlander

RAY WAS HERE FIRST

Comment

Anyone else got a opinion, advice or guidance?

Comment

Not good, it was just so recent and you did it 3 times! I dont know you so of course I cant judge your character. But just think, when they look at all of thier candidates, who are they going to pick? It is a VERY competitive career and you have to play your cards right and stay out of trouble. To the fire dept. you might seem like too much of a risk. Just my 2 cents, good luck..

Comment

Advice...Not to be mean, but dream on...