Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Citadel student...where to go from here?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Citadel student...where to go from here?

I am currently a sophomore at the Citadel in Charleston, SC. I am wondering what to do in the next couple of years while I am here to better prepare myself for a future in fire service. My ultimate goal is to be a firefighter in a larger city. Should I take fire science or any other classes during the summers? I am hoping that the structured, disciplined atmosphere of this school will put me above other applicants but what else can I do to get ready?

Thanks
    Dustin Loehndorf

You should have gone to a real school - NMMI!

Lol Just kidding
    I am a complacent liability to the fire service

Comment

All joking aside, thats my point right there. If you went to NMMI, (a comparable but slightly inferior school) and got a job with the Chicago FD how did you do it?

Comment

As far as your schooling goes buisness management courses or public admin courses will help you in the long run. As far as college helping you get a job, some depts give bonus points for college. Typically depts don't give a rat's butt if you went to some podunk community college or Harvard just that you went.

Comment

Yea, usually it doesn't matter what kind of degree you have.

All you have to do is get ur degree and you pretty much get 5 extra points at the majority of the places you apply.

Sucks to see people get hired w/fine arts degrees though.....

Comment

Originally posted by FTroop09
            All joking aside, thats my point right there. If you went to NMMI, (a comparable but slightly inferior school) and got a job with the Chicago FD how did you do it?