Questions about Houston FD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about Houston FD

Hey everybody, I have a quick question for all of you. Ever since I've gotten into firefighting it's been my dream to work for HFD. I'm 20 y/o I live in WI and I'm a certified FFI and also a NREMT-P. I work as a medic and am on a vol. fd I also plan to take FFII very soon and possibly some other classes. My fiance and I are making a trip out there later this month to check out the area, housing, and maybe a station or two. She's just finishing nursing school and is a paramedic as well. We've allready recieved job offers with cypress creek ems as paramedics. what my question to all of you would be what are my chances of getting hired onto HFD. It's been my dream to work there ever since I started doing this and don't think I'd want to be much anywhere else. I'm in good shape, intelligent, and have a clean record with no traffic violations except an impeeding traffic ticket. What can I do to get hired? and what are my odds now? I've heard rumors that Houston is in great need of medics and is pretty much willing to take anyone who has a clean backround on. But knowing how competative the fire service is I don't much believe that. I've finished at the top of a few lists here in WI, but havn't gotten a job offer yet. Any help or advice I can get would be great. Thanks for your time.
    Luke
    Last edited by kwikylube; 08-08-2006, 01:00 AM. Reason: misprint

HFD DOES really need paramedics. Pretty much all incoming firefighters are being crosstrained as medics. Getting on with HFD doesn't seem as difficult as with other departments.

Some good things about Houston: incredibly low cost of living, tons of pro sports, ridiculous amount of restaurants (one of the highest per capita in the nation)

Like a lot of cities in the south (Charlotte, Austin/Round Rock, Atlanta, Phoenix) Houston is growing, and growing fast.

Comment