Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice/Assistance

Hi all,

New to posting on the forums here, but have read some excellent messages and thought this was the place to turn for help.

I am a licensed Paramedic in Connecticut with over 10 years experience in a progressive, albeit private, 911 response system. Yes, that's another way of saying AMR.....

Anyway, I took a leave from the field to pursue a goal of college and a family, both of which have been achieved. I have moved to Massachusetts and found that despite my background in EMS, Volunteer Firefighting, and various rescue certifications my age (33) is a stumbling block for acceptance onto many Massachusetts departments.

I am curious if anyone knows of any departments in RI/MA/NH/CT without an age restrictions or where I should begin to look - I would prefer to work in Massachusetts, but if my experience is not welcome due to my age, I'll gladly set up shop somewhere else -

Any thoughts?

Bill

Lexington MA is looking for firefighter/medics. MA medic license is all they're requiring at time of hire.

http://lexingtonma.virtualtownhall.n...C162F-009C165F

Comment

Medic,
      The thing that lingers in my mind about your post is what leads you to believe that it is your age that is keeping you from getting hired?

If all of the departments you are trying to get hired on have an age limit, then I understand your plight. However, if you are speculating this to be the cause I suggest you may be off base.

At 33 years old with a degree and a paramedic license, coupled with volunteer experience you should be at the top of the hiring list.

The average age of what we hire on my department is usually around 29 years old. We have hired several firefighters in their late 30’s and even a couple in their 40’s. Traditionally older firefighters do extremely well in the fire service.